Gabriola Isle of the Arts Festival

APRIL 5-14, 2019

A Celebration of the Arts with 30 workshops and 10 events.  Make, Learn and Play with Island Artists.

The Gabriola Arts Council acknowledges our hosts, the Snuneymuxw First Nation, and recognize that we live and create on unceded Coast Salish territory.


Events and Programs

Nominations Open for the 2018 ARTY AWARD

The ARTY AWARD is presented each year to an individual or organization that has made a significant contribution to the arts on Gabriola Island. Previous winners include artists, performers, administrators, and all have done their part to build or support the creative vibe on Gabriola.

Here’s the list of previous ARTY AWARD recipients:

2017 – Graham Sheehan
2016 – Gail Lund
2015 – Leah Hokanson
2014 – Tammy Hudgeon
2013 – Sheila Norgate
2012 – Jim Wilson-Storey
2011 – Kathy McIntyre

Here’s what happens: GAC members submit nominations for the award. You can submit as many nominations as you like. Current GAC staff members and directors are NOT eligible to receive the ARTY Award. After the deadline, the GAC Board reviews all nominations and makes the final decision about this year’s recipient.

Submission deadline: April 1 at 4 pm

The ARTY AWARD will be given out at the ARTY PARTY on Saturday, April 14 at the Surf Lodge.


2018 ARTY Award Nomination Form

Nominate a person or collective or group that has made an outstanding contribution to the arts on Gabriola Island in 2017.
  • Enter the full name of the person or collective or group that you think is deserving of the coveted ARTY Award for 2018. Remember—this cannot be a current GAC Director or staff person.
  • Please provide their phone number, if you know it.
  • Please provide their email address, if you know it.
  • Please tell us why you think this person, collective or group should receive the ARTY Award. How have they made a contribution to the arts on Gabriola Island? Provide as much detail as you like.
    Once you click the "submit" button, your nomination has been sent. Thank you for your contribution to the process and for caring about the arts in our community.